- Concealed Weapons Permits
Concealed Weapons Permits
The Town of Tiburon will fairly and impartially consider all applications for a Concealed Carry Weapons (CCW) permit in accordance with applicable law and this policy. Please note that pursuant to the United States Supreme Court's ruling in New York Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen, the Town does not require applicants to establish "good cause" for the issuance of a concealed carry weapons permit. The Town otherwise requires strict compliance with the remaining applicable laws and policies.
Please find below a link to the CCW application and the Town's policy on processing CCW applications, which are also further explained below.
Requirements for Obtaining a License to Carry a Concealed Weapon
In order to qualify for a license to carry a firearm, the applicant must meet certain requirements, including:
- Be a resident of the Town of Tiburon (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
- Be at least 21 years of age (Penal Code § 29610).
- Fully complete the Department of Justice application that will include substantial personal information. Much of the information in the application may be subject to public access under the Public Records Act.
- Be free from criminal convictions that would disqualify the applicant from carrying a firearm. Fingerprints will be required and a complete criminal background check will be conducted.
- Be of good moral character (Penal Code § 26150; Penal Code § 26155).
- Pay all associated application fees. These fees are set by statute and may not be refunded if the application is denied.
- Provide proof of ownership or registration of any firearm to be licensed.
- Be free from any psychological conditions that might make the applicant unsuitable for carrying a firearm (Penal Code § 26190).
- Complete required training (Penal Code § 26165).
The application process for a license to carry a firearm shall consist of two phases. Upon the successful completion of each phase, the applicant will advance to the next phase until the process is completed and the license is either issued or denied. The process may take up to 90 days to complete.
No person determined to fall within a prohibited class described in Penal Code § 29800, Penal Code § 29900, Welfare and Institutions Code § 8100, or Welfare and Institutions Code § 8103 will be issued a license to carry a firearm. A license shall not be issued if the California Department of Justice (DOJ) determines that the applicant is prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm (Penal Code § 26195).
- DOJ CCW Application - Any individual applying for a license to carry a firearm shall first fully complete a California DOJ application to be signed under penalty of perjury. Any applicant who provides false information or statements on the application will be removed from further consideration and may be prosecuted for a criminal offense (Penal Code § 26180).
- Fees - Application fees shall be submitted and processed according to department-established procedures and Penal Code § 26190.
- Additional fees may be required for fingerprinting, training, or psychological testing, in addition to the application fee.
- Full payment of the remainder of the application fee will be required upon issuance of a license.
- Payment of related fees may be waived if the applicant is a duly appointed reserve peace officer as defined in Penal Code § 830.6 (a) or (b) (Penal Code § 26170).
- Livescan Fingerprints - The applicant shall be required to submit to fingerprinting and a complete criminal background check by the California DOJ. A second set of fingerprints may be required for retention in department files.
- Photographs - Two recent passport-size photos (2 inches by 2 inches) of the applicant must be submitted for department use.
- Reference Letters - The applicant must submit at least three signed letters of character reference from individuals other than relatives.
- Firearms - The applicant shall submit proof of ownership or registration of each firearm to be licensed.
- Interview with Police Chief - Upon successful completion of phase one, the applicant shall be scheduled for a personal interview with the Chief of Police or their authorized designee. During this stage, there will be further discussion of any potential restrictions or conditions that might be placed on the license.
- Background Check – A background check will be handled by local law enforcement officers and/or investigators.
- Psychological exam - The Chief of Police may, based upon criteria established by the Chief of Police, require that the applicant be referred to an authorized psychologist used by the Department for psychological testing. The cost of such psychological testing (not to exceed $150) shall be paid by the applicant. The purpose of any such psychological testing is intended only to identify any outward indications or history of psychological problems that might render the applicant unfit to carry a firearm. This testing is not intended to certify in any other respect that the applicant is psychologically fit. If it is determined that the applicant is not a suitable candidate for carrying a firearm, the applicant shall be removed from further consideration (Penal Code § 26190). Applicants who reach this phase and are required to undergo psychological testing will be referred to Dr. Mark Clementi.
- Training - The applicant shall pay for and complete a course of training approved by the department, which complies with Penal Code § 26165 (Penal Code § 26165). Approved trainers are listed below.
- Firearm Safety Inspection - The applicant shall submit any firearm to be considered for a license to the Rangemaster or other department authorized gunsmith, at no cost to the applicant, for a full safety inspection. The Chief of Police reserves the right to deny a license for any firearm that has been altered from the manufacturer's specifications or that is unsafe (Penal Code § 31910).
- Firearms Safety and Proficiency Exam - The applicant shall successfully complete a firearms safety and proficiency examination with the firearm to be licensed, to be administered by the department Rangemaster, or provide proof of successful completion of another department-approved firearms safety and proficiency examination, including completion of all releases and other forms. The cost of any outside inspection/ examination shall be the responsibility of the applicant.
Once the Chief of Police or authorized designee has verified the successful completion of phase two, the license to carry a firearm will either be granted or denied. Whether an application is approved or denied at the conclusion of or during phase two, the applicant shall be notified in writing within 90 days of the initial application or within 30 days after receipt of the applicant's criminal background check from the California DOJ, whichever is later. If the license is denied, the notice shall state which requirement was not satisfied (Penal Code § 26205).
If the license to carry a firearm is issued, it will be valid for two years.
Tiburon Police Approved Trainers
Petaluma, CA 94954
DEFENSIVE ACCURACY, LLC
Crosshair Training, LLC
Dennis Jamarck, Jr.
Ziyad “Zip” Showket (Instructor/Principal)
(415) 497-1983 (call or text)